$600,000 to be invested in Solar Energy Systems for state parks

first_imgThe Douglas Administration has announced that Vermont State Parks are going solar as part of the state’s strategy to fight back against the recession, create jobs and grow the economy. The Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation is planning to install solar hot water systems at its toilet buildings and bathhouses in state park campgrounds statewide.  The Department has designated $600,000 for these solar hot water conversions.“The potential to tap renewable energy in more locations throughout the park system is a high priority for my administration,” said Governor Jim Douglas. “This project puts people to work, helps the state parks save money and is another small smart step in addressing climate change.”As part of the 2010 capital bill, the Legislature approved the funds specifically for energy efficiency and alternative energy systems in the parks.Vermont State Parks has a 20-year history of using alternative energy, including solar heated hot water showers at Little River, Molly Stark and Smugglers Notch State Parks, as well as a unique water system at Underhill State Park that is powered by photo voltaic panels.FPR is seeking proposals and will contract with one or more firms or individuals who can coordinate and oversee the installation of these solar hot water systems. A request for proposals and submission requirements can be found online at www.vermontbidsystem.com(link is external). Source: Governor’s office. August 12, 2009###last_img read more

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete results from the All-Star Race at Bristol

first_imgNASCAR’s top teams raced for $1 million Wednesday night at Bristol Motor Speedway in the Cup Series’ annual All-Star Race. The winner-take-all event didn’t produce the short-track action that fans crave (and there were about 20,000 on hand, reports The Associated Press, as NASCAR allowed spectators in).Instead, there was mostly trouble-free racing and a comfortable victory by Chase Elliott, the series’ Most Popular Driver. He won Stages 2 and 3 and then dominated the closing 15-lap stage.  The 9️⃣ gets it done!Retweet to congratulate @chaseelliott on his first #AllStarRace victory! pic.twitter.com/Z313jiHFJF— NASCAR (@NASCAR) July 16, 2020″Oh, my gosh, there’s no feeling like it, nothing like it,” Elliott said after the fans cheered his triumph. “Bristol is an electric atmosphere unlike any place we go to. We’re going to celebrate this one for sure.”MORE: Highlights from the All-Star Race”There’s nothing like Bristol, Elliott added. “There’s nothing like the lights here. There’s nothing like racing here. I’ve never won here (before) — what a race to do it.”Below is more about Elliott’s win, plus the complete results of Wednesday’s NASCAR All-Star Race and All-Star Open at Bristol.Who won the NASCAR race last night?Chase Elliott took control of the race in Stage 2 and never let go. He led 60 of the race’s 140 laps, which were broken up into four stages. Ryan Blaney led the most laps (72) and took Stage 1, but he came home in sixth.Elliott joined his father, Bill, as an All-Star winner. They’re the second father-son combo to win the race, after Dale Earnhardt and Dale Earnhardt Jr.Interestingly, only two All-Star Races have been held at a track other than Charlotte Motor Speedway, and an Elliott has won both of them: Chase this year and Bill in 1986 at Atlanta, his home track.NASCAR results at BristolWell, if you weren’t first Wednesday, you were pretty much last as only Elliott cashed. Kyle Busch came home second, followed by Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski and Denny Hamlin in the top five. Elliott’s Hendrick Motorsports teammate Alex Bowman was the only other Chevrolet driver in the top 10.Below are the complete results from Wednesday’s All-Star race and the All-Star Open, which set the last four spots in the field, at Bristol.All-Star RaceFinish(Start)DriverCarLaps1(13)Chase ElliottChevrolet1402(10)Kyle BuschToyota1403(5)Kevin HarvickFord1404(9)Brad KeselowskiFord1405(15)Denny HamlinToyota1406(3)Ryan BlaneyFord1407(12)Joey LoganoFord1408(2)Alex BowmanChevrolet1409(17)Aric AlmirolaFord14010(1)Martin Truex Jr.Toyota14011(16)Erik JonesToyota14012(18)William ByronChevrolet14013(19)Matt DiBenedettoFord14014(4)Justin Haley(i)Chevrolet14015(20)Clint BowyerFord14016(8)Cole Custer #Ford14017(14)Jimmie JohnsonChevrolet14018(6)Matt KensethChevrolet14019(11)Ryan NewmanFord14020(7)Kurt BuschChevrolet140# Rookie. (i) Ineligible for series points.Average speed of race winner: 65.68 mph.Time of race: 1 hour, 8 minutes, 10 seconds. Margin of victory: 0.418 seconds.Caution flags: 5 for 13 laps.Lead changes: 6 among 4 drivers.Lap leaders: M. Truex Jr. 0; A. Bowman 1-2; R. Blaney 3-55; K. Harvick 56-61; C. Elliott 62-90; R. Blaney 91-109; C. Elliott 110-140.Leaders summary (Driver, times led, laps led): Ryan Blaney 2 times for 72 laps; Chase Elliott 2 times for 60 laps; Kevin Harvick 1 time for 6 laps; Alex Bowman 1 time for 2 laps.Stage 1 top 10: 12,4,9,88,20,10,22,2,18,6Stage 2 top 10: 9,4,12,2,88,14,11,22,10,18Stage 3 top 10: 9,12,2,18,4,11,20,22,88,14 All-Star OpenFinish(Start)DriverCarLaps1(10)Matt DiBenedettoFord852(9)Clint BowyerFord85.3(11)Austin DillonChevrolet854(8)Chris BuescherFord855(20)Ty DillonChevrolet856(4)Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Chevrolet857(1)Michael McDowellFord858(19)John Hunter Nemechek #Ford859(21)Corey LaJoieFord8510(5)Tyler Reddick #Chevrolet8511(3)Christopher Bell #Toyota8512(18)Daniel SuarezToyota8513(12)Ryan PreeceChevrolet8514(13)JJ Yeley(i)Ford8515(15)Brennan Poole #Chevrolet8516(14)Garrett Smithley(i)Chevrolet8517(16)Quin Houff #Chevrolet8318(17)Joey Gase(i)Ford7619(7)William Byron (2)Chevrolet7020(2)Aric Almirola (1)Ford3521(6)Bubba WallaceChevrolet17# Rookie. (1) Stage 1 winner. (2) Stage 2 winner. (i) Ineligible for series points.Average speed of race winner: 57.388 mph.Time of race: 47 minutes, 22 seconds. Margin of victory: 0.789 seconds.Caution flags: 4 for 18 laps.Lead changes: 3 among 4 drivers.Lap leaders: M. McDowell 1-10; A. Almirola 11-35; W. Byron 36-70; M. DiBenedetto 71-85.Leaders summary (Driver, times led, laps led): William Byron 1 time for 35 laps; Aric Almirola 1 time for 25 laps; Matt DiBenedetto 1 time for 15 laps; Michael McDowell 1 time for 10 laps.Stage 1 top 10: 10,24,13,47,17,14,32,96,21,3Stage 2 top 10: 32,8,15,27,53,24,21,3,14,952020 Fan Vote winner: Clint Bowyer.Material from the NASCAR Wire Service was used in this report.last_img read more